• Impulse wellesley

Red Sox, Padres crowned as 2013 Wellesley Little League champs

384290The Red Sox for the 2nd year in a row are the Wellesley Little League AL baseball champs, having knocked off an amazingly outstanding and personable Orioles team (OK, we had a rooting interest in this team) in a best-of-3 series. The O’s took game one behind strong pitching from Michael Kenney, but the Sox roared back at Reidy Field to win the next two, powered by 3 homers in the final game, which they won 13-9. Colin Blasco, Owen O’Connor, Michael Rosenbloom, James Cahill and Grant Porter were among the Sox hitting, fielding and pitching stars, with special recognition to Porter, who bounced back strongly after getting hit in the mouth by a pitch early in the series.

In the NL, the Padres defeated the Diamondbacks in the title game by a score of 9-2.

On a related note, registration for Fall ball is now open.


This entry was posted in Kids, Sports. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>